Searching for cheaper dupes? This post is for you.

Ever since I received my first box of makeup from my aunt at Christmas aged 11 or 12, I’ve been hooked. It wasn’t until I was 16 and working in my local Subway that I could actually afford to experiment with brands which were a little more high-end.

It was then that I started to realise – if you take away the nice packaging and brand reputation, what is the actual difference.

This research was first prompted when I found my £13 CK One lippy was identical to one I’d bought from Rimmel just two weeks prior. When I started digging I discovered Sister Companies and it all started to make sense.

Sister Companies are basically companies who are all owned by one big company. A lot of their products are made in the same factories by the same people.

I want to point out I am in no way saying Maybeline and YSL Cosmetics products are exactly the same because obviously, they’re not. But what I am beginning to realise is that there are some sneaky money-saving dupes to be found here!

So below you can find my list of sister companies you may find interesting…


Estée Lauder: MAC, Smashbox, Clinique, Bobbi Brown and Tom Ford

L’Oreal: Maybelline, Lancome, Essie, Giorgio Armani, Ralph Lauren, Diesel, YSL Beauty (not the whole of YSL) and The Body Shop

Bourjois: Channel.

Proctor & Gamble: Cover Girl, Max Factor, Olay, Dolce & Gabbana Cosmetics.

Coty, Inc: Rimmel London, Sally Hansen, OPI, Adidas, Playboy, Guess Parfums, Roberto Cavalli, Vera Wang, Balenciaga, Marc Jacobs, Vivienne Westwood, Chloe, Joop!, Davidoff, Calvin Klein, ck one color cosmetics.

LVMH: Dior, Guerlain, Givenchy, Kenzo, Benefit Cosmetics, Make Up For Ever